Best Resources for Mixed Martial Arts (MMA)

King Khong MMA

Pentagon Mixed Martial Arts

Guardian Mixed Martial Arts

Modern Martial Arts and Family Fitness Center

Octagon MMA & Krav Maga

Primal Martial Arts and Fitness


How to Read Reviews

1 Star: Did not meet expectations

2 Star: Slightly below expectations

3 Star: Met expectations

4 Star: Slightly above expectations

5 Star: Exceeded expectations

MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) is the combination of different martial arts disciplines into one training program, with the objective of defeating an opponent. It includes Kickboxing, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (focuses on grappling & wrestling); Krav Maga, Taekwondo, Muay Thai (uses of fists, elbows, knees, shins); Wrestling, Kung Fu; American Kenpo (uses hand strikes in rapid succession); Sambo (self-defense without weapons); Judo (involves throwing or taking down an opponent to the ground, pinning down and forcing the opponent to submit with a joint lock or a choke); Wrestling (uses clinch fighting, throws and takedowns, joint locks, pins and other grappling holds); and Boxing (a combat sport that involves fighting with fists). Other general tactics utilized in MMA are striking, finishing holds, control, blocks, weapons defense, and escapes. MMA is contested by two people and is usually fought in a cage (a fighting area enclosed by metal fencing) or a traditional boxing ring. There are 11 weight classes in MMA, which are Super Heavyweight (over 265 pounds); Heavyweight (205 to 265 pounds); Light Heavyweight (185 to 205 pounds); Middleweight (170 to 185 pounds); Welterweight (155 to 170 pounds); Lightweight (145 to 155 pounds); Featherweight (135 to 145 pounds); Women's Bantamweight (125 to 135 pounds); Bantamweight (125 to 135 pounds); Flyweight (115 pounds to 125); Strawweight (up to 115 pounds). An MMA match can be won through a Knockout, Decision, Submission, Technical knockout (TKO), Forfeit, or No contest. The sport has a number of rules which include: matches must have three rounds, lasting a maximum of five minutes; fighters must be in the same weight category; strikes to the groin strikes, eye gouging, biting, throat strikes, hair pulling, and head butts are not allowed.